top of page

The Best Thick Hot Chocolate 

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

This thick Italian style hot chocolate is rich, chocolatey and velvety smooth. It is sooo good and perfect on a cold winter day.



It is currently winter break for me. Exam season is over and now I have all this free time and don't exactly know what to do with it. I mean I am doing my movie marathons like I always do but I needed to vamp it up. So I made one of those packaged hot chocolates you get in a box. I used to love these as a kid, but as i'm getting older, things I loved as a child don't taste as great. Anyways, so that led me to try out making my own hot chocolate. I made those recipes that are on the back of cocoa powder containers and they just don't measure up. Don't get me wrong, they're better than what's in the little packaged hot chocolates but just not what I was expecting. Other recipes i've tried just tasted really watered down.


Until I discovered Italian or even French hot chocolate. There's just something about the Italian one though that I love so much and I'm sure you're going to love it too. Really, it tastes like what you imagined Willy Wonka's chocolate river would taste like and it's a similar consistency. If you grew up watching Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (like I did) or even Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, you'll be in nostalgic heaven. Plus, this is a super easy recipe to make.


Let's jump in!


1. Combine sugar, cocoa, salt and a bit of cornstarch in a bowl and set it aside.

If you don't have cornstarch, use icing sugar as there's cornstarch in there. Just remember to reduce the sugar in the mixture. Remember to sift these ingredients or stir it with either a whisk or fork to get rid of any large lumps.


2. Heat your milk over a low-medium heat.

Remember to keep whisking your milk so it doesn't stick to the bottom of the pan.


3. Once the milk is heated, add the chocolate chips.

You'll know the milk is ready when there are bubbles around the saucepan. Add any chocolate you desire. I prefer semi-sweet. Keep on whisking periodically.


*Note: consider the sweetness of the chocolate you want to add as you might need to adjust the overall sweetness of the entire mixture accordingly.


4. Allow the chocolate chips to melt completely.

Continue whisking the mixture.


5. Slowly whisk in the dry mixture. Add the vanilla.


6. Important: Bring to a boil while mixing continuously until thickened.

The hot chocolate will not get thick unless you bring the mixture to a boil. Do not leave the stove at this stage.


7. Add marshmallows, whipped cream or whatever you like. The hot chocolate will get even thicker as it cools. ENJOY!

 

Recipe

Prep Time: 5 mins

Cook Time: 7 mins

Servings: 2 cups

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup milk

  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream or evaporated milk

  • 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • 2 tablespoons cocoa

  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch (or icing sugar)

  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

  • 4-5 tablespoons sugar


Directions

  1. Combine cornstarch, sugar, cocoa and salt in a small bowl and mix to combine getting rid of any clumps.

  2. Add the milk and cream in a small saucepan and heat over low heat.

  3. Whisk continuously. Once the milk is hot add the chocolate chips.

  4. Let the chocolate chips melt completely. Keep whisking.

  5. Slowly whisk in the hot chocolate mixture.

  6. Add vanilla and bring to a boil mixing consistently until thickened.

  7. Serve and enjoy.

If you tried this recipe or have question, let me know in the comment section below.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page