top of page

Better Boxed Cake

I cannot even begin to tell you about the nostalgia I get when I see a boxed cake mix. As a kid, and a beginner baker, I only made boxed cakes. And even though I now know how to make a homemade cake, boxed cakes are not that bad to be honest.


I know most people do not like the idea of boxed cake but sometimes you need to a quick and easy way to make a bunch of cakes or cupcakes that taste good.


That was me a few weeks ago. I needed to make 100 cupcakes for a baby shower, but completely ran out of ingredients on my last batch. Thanks to boxed cake mixes, I made those last 24 cupcakes and no one suspected a thing.


Now you're probably wondering how no one suspected it was boxed cake when boxed mixes always have that one identifiable flavour. Well, it's all thanks to the boxed mix hacks I am about to share with you.


***Notes:

  • Because of the additions to the cake mix, you will have much more batter than normal. Take care not to overfill your baking dish. You only want to fill it about 2/3 full. It will rise while baking.

  • For the best results, use a quality boxed mix brand like Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker.

  • Do not use store bought icing. It just ruins the whole cake. Plus it's really easy to make your own icing. You can find the link to my buttercream frosting recipe here or my cream cheese frosting recipe here.


 

Recipe


Prep time: 10 mins

Cook time: ~30 mins (depends on box mix used)

Servings: 24 cupcakes or 1 cake

Ingredients

  • 1 box (16-18 oz) cake mix, any variety

  • 2/3 cup full fat sour cream

  • 1/3 cup butter, vegetable or canola oil

  • 2 large eggs

  • 1/2 cup whole milk

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • pinch of salt


Substitutions:

  • Oil – you can swap this out for the same amount of melted butter if you prefer or coconut oil.

  • Sour cream – you can substitute this with full fat yogurt, greek yogurt or mayonnaise.

  • Milk – you can use buttermilk if you'd like, but it's not neccessary.

Directions

  1. Beat together all the ingredients until a smooth and combined batter forms.

  2. Bake according to package instructions. Normally 350 degrees Farenhiet is for cakes. I like to put the convection on to get a thorough baked product.


If you tried this recipe or have a question, let me know in the comment section below!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page