top of page

The Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

Soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies are seriously the best invention ever! Yet such few people actually know how to make this mouthwatering treat. You might be surprised, but I was one of those people. Here you'll learn all about how to make your cookies turn out perfect on your first try. I guarantee it!



But first, I'm gonna tell you a little story little how i learned how to make the best homemade chocolate chip cookies ever.

Cookies were actually the very first recipe I ever learned how to make. I remember just buying those chewy cookies from just about any place that sold them - Tim Hortons, Mcdonalds, Subway...you name it. I was in LOVE with chocolate chip cookies. Plus, they were a great pick me up after my shifts during my nursing placements or after a final exam. But who am I kidding...I used any excuse to have another cookie.

Buying all those cookies put a damper on my wallet plus I also later noticed a lack in the quality of cookies I bought. Sometimes I'd buy a cookie and it would be stale, the seller used cheap quality chocolate or they raised the price. All these reasons made me come to the idea: why don't I just make cookies myself.

So I did. I tested about 10 different recipes before I finally got it right.

My first few recipes turned out more like scones, some were as hard as brick and others had a very cake-like texture which I did not like and they would hardly spread when baking. Trust me, I've been through all the textures when it comes to cookies. Mind you all of these failed recipes tasted good and were edible, they just were not what I was looking for. But I was truly determined to get it right.

I learned different things from all these recipes until I finally got it right and I'm gonna share any tips or advice I have to help you get it right too.


1. The first most important thing to do is put half a cup of butter out to bring it to room temperature.

Don't skip this step. You cannot melt the butter and expect it to be soft and chewy. If you melt your butter, the cookies will be very crispy and in some cases, cakey. You want a chewy cookie. So make sure you leave your butter out until it's soft to the touch. You can also use margarine in which case you don't need to let it get to room temperature. But it tastes better with real butter. Plus real butter is healthier for you than margarine.


2. Use dark brown sugar.

You need to use dark brown sugar. Period. Golden sugar will make your cookies cakey and cane sugar will not work. Many people want to substitute cane sugar for brown sugar but brown sugar and cane sugar are not the same thing. Cane sugar is raw and less processed and will take forever to melt. Brown sugar on the other hand is just processed white granulated sugar with molasses added to it. But the molasses is crucial since it adds so much moisture and helps give your cookies that soft gooey texture. So measure out 2/3 cup of dark brown sugar and we'll go to the next step.


3. You also need a bit of white sugar.

White sugar helps give the cookies some shape and makes it a little crispy around the edges. If you omit white sugar, you'll have a gloopy mess. Measure out 1/3 cup.

4. Cream your butter and sugars.

Make sure to cream the butter and sugars by hand or using a mixer before adding any other ingredient. This is the base for cookies and probably the most important step. I normally do this by hand.


Creamed butter and sugars.

5. One room temperature egg is needed.

A room temperature egg is very important because it allows all the ingredients to be more well-combined. I've tried both ways by using a cold egg vs a room temperature egg and I got much better results. So leave your egg and butter out at the same time just so you don't forget to do it later. If you do forget just place the egg in a bowl of very warm water for 15-20 minutes. I normally crack the egg in a separate bowl in case I get a bad egg. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla directly to the egg since it gets rid of any raw egg taste in your cookie dough. Add your egg and vanilla to the creamed butter and sugars.

Should look like this after adding in the egg and vanilla.

6. Measure out your flour properly.

You need 1 and 1/3 cups of flour for this. It's important to either loosen your flour before dipping a cup or measure your flour by adding a tablespoon at a time to your measuring cup and leveling it. That's actually the correct way to measure flour and ensures you don't add too much flour to the dough. You want soft cookies not hockey pucks.

Measure and sift the flour and baking powder.

7. Add the flour to the butter mixture.

Do this slowly and try not to mix the dough for too long otherwise you'll develop the gluten and get a harder cookie rather than a chewy one.

Add the flour and baking powder to the butter mixture.
Dough should look like this, but will feel very soft.

8. Add the chocolate!

Honestly, this is the best step! Add whatever and how much chocolate you want. I normally add a 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips since the dough is sweet already. But feel free to add what you like!


9. Chill, Bake, Enjoy.

I normally refrigerate the dough in the time the oven is preheating. This takes like 10 minutes. Sometimes I refrigerate it longer. Though it's not a very important step. It just makes the cookies a little less flat. But, I bypass this step all the time. Spread parchment paper on your baking sheet or butter or cooking spray just so the cookies don't stick. I normally measure out the dough with an ice cream scoop and roll the cookies into balls to get a perfect circle. I then bake them at 350 degrees celsius and place them on convection. This takes between 12-15 minutes.

There you have it. 9 easy steps to homemade chocolate chip cookies!


 

Recipe


Prep Time: 15 mins

Cook time: 14 mins

Servings: 16

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup unsalted butter (110g)

  • 2/3 Cup Brown Sugar (130g)

  • 1/3 Cup White Sugar (65g)

  • 1 Egg

  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

  • 2/3 Cup All Purpose Flour (210g)

  • 1 tsp Baking Soda

  • 1/2 tsp Salt

  • 1 cup (200 g) chocoalte chips

Directions

  1. In a bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until light and pale in colour.

  2. Add the egg and vanilla extract.

  3. Mix together the flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl.

  4. Slowly fold the dry ingredients to the wet until just combined, DO NOT overmix,

  5. Fold in the chocolate chips.

  6. Chill the dough for 10-30 mins before baking.

  7. Roll the dough into about 12-16 balls and place on a lined or greased baking sheet.

  8. Bake the cookies on convection at 350 F for 12-14 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Allow to cool for 5-10 mins. Enjoy.

Let me know if you tried it or feel free to leave a tip in the comments below!


114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page