top of page

Cinnabon Copycat Cream Cheese Frosting 

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

There's just something about Cinnabon's frosting that really compliments their cinnamon rolls. Since I got my cinnamon roll recipe down that is a really close second to Cinnabon's, I thought why not try to come up with a copycat cream cheese frosting recipe. I researched several different recipes and have finally found it!


1. Leave your butter and cream cheese out for about 1 hour to bring it to room temperature.

You need room temperature butter for any type of frosting you make. If you live in a warm climate you might only need to leave it out for 15 minutes. But, if your live in a cold climate like me (i'm from Canada eh!), you need between 1-2 hours. For the cream cheese, you want it kind of cold but soft enough to whip. So leave the cream cheese out for about 1 hour.


2. Sift your powdered sugar.

Powdered sugar also known as icing sugar or confectioner's sugar. It's all the same thing. Whatever you call it, make sure you sift it. Powdered sugar get really clumpy and harder to combine with your butter if you don't sift it. I've made icing without sifting before and while it does come together in the end, you're going to be mixing for a while to go from a grainy, clumpy consistency to a smooth and fluffy one.


3. Cream the butter first. Then the cream cheese.

You need to cream the butter well until it's about double in size and looks kind of pale. The butter needs to be creamed first, before the cold cream cheese, otherwise the cream cheese will sort of freeze the butter and there will be a mess of random solid pieces of butter all over your frosting.

4. Add the powdered sugar to the butter slowly.

If you don't do this slowly, there will be sugar everywhere. One trick I use is I add about half a cup of icing sugar at a time. And before I turn on that mixer, I incorporate the sugar and butter with a spoon at first (just a little) and then I mix it together.


5. Add the vanilla.

Vanilla always brings out this really great flavour in buttercream frosting. But if you prefer a different flavour, by all means, add it. This is a totally customizable recipe.


6. Add the heavy cream.

This makes the frosting really airy, light and nicely whipped just like Cinnabon's.


7. Add the secret ingredients: Lemon Juice.

Lemon juice really helps you get a tangier frosting and really brings out the flavour of the cream cheese. This is what Cinnabon uses according to several recipes I've checked. Since I started adding lemon juice to my frosting, everyone in my family claims that my frosting tastes just like Cinnabon's.


*For my Cinnamon roll recipe, click here.

 

Recipe


Prep Time: 10 mins

Servings: 3 cups

Ingredients

  • ½ Cup(115g) Butter

  • 200g Cream Cheese

  • 3 Cups (375g) icing sugar or confectioners sugar

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice


Directions

  1. In a stand mixer or with a hand mixer, beat room temperature butter for until light, pale and double in size.

  2. Add the cream cheese to the butter and mix until well combined.

  3. Sift the icing sugar and add it to the butter and cream cheese. Add the vanilla.

  4. Scrape down the sides of the bowl periodically with a spatula and beat until the frosting is light and fluffy.


If you tried this recipe or have a question, let me know in the comments below!

717 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page